COMUNIDADE ECONOMICA DOS ESTADOS DA AFRICA OCIDENTAL

ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES



COMMUNAUTE ECONOMIQUE DES ETATS DE L'AFRIQUE DE L'OUEST

EXTRAORDINARY SESSION OF THE ECOWAS AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT

27 January 2018, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

FINAL COMMUNIQUE

- 1. The Extraordinary Session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) was held on 27 January 2018, in the margins of the 30th Ordinary Session of the African Union General Assembly in Addis Ababa, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. The Session was chaired by H.E. Mr Faure Essozimna Gnassingbe, President of the Togolese Republic and Chair of the Authority.
- 2. The session was attended by the under-listed Heads of State and Government:
 - H.E. Mr Patrice Talon, President of the Republic of Benin
 - H. E. Mr Alassane Ouattara, President of the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire
 - H. E. Mr Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, President of the Republic of Ghana
 - H. E. Prof Alpha Conde, President of the Republic of Guinea
 - H. E. Mr José Mário Vaz, President of the Republic of Guinea Bissau
 - H. E. Mr George Weah, President of the Republic of Liberia
 - H. E. Mr Issoufou Mahamadou, President of the Republic of Niger
 - H. E. Mr Macky Sall, President of the Republic of Senegal
 - H. E. Mr Ernest Bai Koroma, President of the Republic of Sierra Leone
 - H.E. **Mrs Fatumatta Jallow-Tanbajang**, Vice President of the Republic of The Gambia
- 3. The following Heads of delegation duly represented their Member States:
 - H. E. Mr **Alpha Barry**, Burkina Faso's Minister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and Burkinabe Abroad;

- H.E. Mr José da Silva Goncalves, Minister of Tourism, Transport and Maritime Economy of the Republic of Cabo Verde;
- H.E. Mr Abdramane Sylla, Minister of Integration of the Republic of Mali;
- H.E. Mr **Geoffrey Onyeama**, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Mr Jean Claude Brou, incoming President of the Commission also took part in the Session.

- 4. The Heads of State and Government congratulated President **George Weah** on his election as President of the Republic of Liberia. They also reaffirmed their readiness to give him all the necessary support for the success of his mandate.
- 5. The Heads of State and Government observed a minute's silence in memory of those killed by an improvised explosive device on 26 January 2018 and terrorist attacks of 27 January 2018 in Northern and Central Mali respectively. They offer their condolences to the Governments of Mali and Burkina Faso, as well as to the bereaved families.
- 6. The Authority took note of the report of the 17th Extraordinary Session of the Council of Ministers on the allocation of statutory positions to Member States, held on 20 January 2018 in Lome, Togolese Republic, as well as the Commission President's report on the implementation of the Conakry Agreement by Guinea Bissau signatory parties.
- 7. The Heads of State and Government welcomed the quality of reports by the Council of Ministers and the President of the Commission, as well as the agreement reached during the consultations at the extraordinary session of the Council of Ministers on the allocation of statutory positions.
- 8. After deliberations on the items on the agenda, the Authority took the following decisions:

REGARDING THE ALLOCATION OF STATUTORY POSITIONS

- 9. The Heads of State and Government notes the considerable difficulty in allocating statutory positions to Member States, in particular with respect to a 9-member Commission. In this regard, in the name of solidarity and cohesion, and in order to allow all Member States occupy a Commissioner position without increasing the running costs, they decide to return to a 15-member Commission. They direct the outgoing Commission President to work together with the incoming President on the allocation of positions to enable the new statutory officers assume duty.
- 10. The Authority also takes note of the Memorandum on the enhancement of criteria for the allocation of statutory positions presented by the Chairman of the Authority

for consideration and invites Member States to submit their observations within 15 days.

REGARDING THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE CONAKRY AGREEMENT BY GUINEA BISSAU SIGNATORY PARTIES

- 11. The Authority takes note of the memorandum of the President of the Commission on implementation of the Conakry Agreement by the Guinea Bissau signatory parties. It commends Presidents **Alpha Conde** and **Faure Essozimna Gnassingbe**, for sending a Ministerial mission to Guinea Bissau on 17 and 18 January 2018, to conduct talks with all the stakeholders.
- 12. The Authority, having observed that since the expiration of the one-month deadline given by its 52nd Ordinary Session held in Abuja, Nigeria on 16 December 2017, no significant progress has been made in the implementation of the agreed actions, urges the Guinea Bissau parties to implement the Conakry Agreement. To this end, the Authority invites President VAZ to appoint a consensus Prime Minister and the Signatory Parties to form a government in conformity with the Conakry Agreement, no later than 31 January 2018, failing that collective and individual sanctions will be imposed, from 1st February 2018, against any person or organisation hampering the crisis exit process in Guinea Bissau. The Authority instructs the President of the Commission to apply the sanctions. It decides to set up a Committee, comprising Togo, Guinea and the ECOWAS Commission, to monitor the implementation of sanctions.
- 13. The Authority launches a strong appeal to the African Union, CPLP, European Union and the United Nations to support ECOWAS in the effective application of sanctions.
- 14. The Summit decides to extend ECOMIB mandate to 31 March 2018.

REGARDING OTHER MATTERS

- 15. The Heads of State and Government invite the Presidential Task Force on the single currency to meet on 21 February 2018 in Accra, Republic of Ghana.
- 16. The Authority expresses its gratitude to H.E. Mr **Macky Sall** for his commitment to the Government and people of The Gambia, with a view to ensuring peace and stability on the Gambian territory.
- 17. The Summit once again pays tribute to H.E. Mr **Ernest Bai Koroma**, President of the Republic of Sierra Leone, for his commitment to the values of the Community and for his immense contribution to the regional integration process. It notes that general and presidential elections will take place on 7 March 2018.

18. The Heads of State and Government express their sincere gratitude to His Excellency Mr **Hailemariam Dessalegn**, Prime Minister of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Government and people of Ethiopia, for the warm welcome extended to all delegations and excellent facilities provided for the successful conduct of the session.

THE AUTHORITY

Done at Addis Ababa, this 27th day of January 2018